Eleanore Vs. Nobody Cares

Dearest readers,

My life recently has been intense to say the least, but now it’s settling down and I am relieved. The past week I have been even more full of anxiety than usual topped off with sheer panic about anything and everything. I have felt lonely despite being surrounded by incredibly loving people, my depression creeping up on me like the wicked Dementor that it has become. Though several of the stressors have now subsided, my panic is still here and as always, my anxiety disorder isn’t going anywhere. I think I need a million hugs.

Thankfully, I spent a mostly calm weekend with my boyfriend. I was laying in bed, waiting for him to shower as I  scrolled along Facebook when I came across a link that had to do with anxiety and relationships. It seemed right up my alley, so naturally, I clicked it. Within the article was a quote that instantly brought me to tears, for the truth of it stung at my heart. I can’t find the exact quote or article, but I still have that first sentence fresh in my mind:

People who have anxiety disorder are convinced that at some point, everyone will leave.

I was stunned by how one sentence could relate so much to one of the darkest parts of my mind that I often try to stifle.  To add to it, John Green, an author who suffers from Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, said that when it comes to mental disorders such as mine and his, you must come to the realization that your brain lies to you constantly; and he could not be more right.

My anxiety and depression cause my brain to lie to me incessantly. Whether they are telling me I’m physically unattractive or screaming that I am not good enough for anything or anyone, they never quiet. They force me to rethink and constantly doubt, always feeling unsure about myself. When I commit to any outward expression of myself, my mental disorders instantly reply, “nobody fucking cares. Why are you even trying?”

Most recent I have noticed this with social media. I am painstakingly cautious about what I write and post, and even still, I have to look at each picture or read each post a dozen times over to be sure I want it to be seen. I regret nearly everything I do and constantly question every single word I post, wondering if it is important enough or clever enough to be read by others without wasting their time. At least a few times a day, I will write a post or a blog and then quickly delete it, because my brain convinces me that nobody cares.

Having an anxiety disorder makes it so that trusting anything is a difficult feat to accomplish; but the fact that many times I am afraid I can’t even trust myself makes everything far more difficult. The worst part of all is that I am fully aware that my brain is doing things wrong and isn’t working properly, but I cannot seem to stop it.

A while ago I was talking to my counselor about all this, and she suggested that anxiety disorder is much like a Chinese finger trap. The more you pull, the more tension you create. Since I’ve lived nearly 27 years with the illness, I’ve come to realize that she is incredibly accurate in her statement. In the words of the Borg, “resistance is futile.” Who knew they all had Generalized Anxiety Disorder?

If that is the case, I am left in a conundrum, because a mental disorder has a firm grip on my brain, but any attempts to fight it only makes the grip tighter. It seems the third option, and only way to actually get better, is to teach myself to turn the mental tables on my mind. To begin to tell my disorder what it has always told me. While it may take years of practice to get it right, at some point, I may be able to have a thought, and let it pass rather than latching onto it and obsessing for days, letting it consume all my other thoughts making it impossible to think clearly.

I look forward to the day I am able to tell my disorders with confidence, after all it’s kicking and screaming, “you know what? Nobody cares.”

Dig down, dig down, dig down,
And find faith.
When you’re close to the edge,
With a gun to your head,
You must find a way.

~Dig Down – Muse ( I encourage everyone to watch this video featuring the gorgeous Lauren Masser, a disabled actress/model).

 

 

Leave a Reply

