Eleanore Vs. Cognitive Block

Dear human thingies,

The last week or so my writing has faltered which I find distressing. There is a legitimate and frustrating  reason that I am currently struggling to do what I so adore, but that doesn’t make me any less irritated. I’m trying to balance the two by writing about the problem; after all, that’s what my blog is for, isn’t it? 

Recently I started to experience worse jaw pain than normal, and upon visiting two dentists  found that my wisdom teeth are impacted, which is causing excruciating pain in my already malformed jaw. I need to have them removed, but getting that done is tricky since I am on Medicaid and have a complex pile of health issues. What should be a fairly routine dental procedure has turned into an ordeal for me and I am left in pain, exhausted, and anxious as ever.

This past Friday I visited my counselor as per usual. What was not usual was that I ended up having a panic attack right in her office. I was feeling extremely disassociated, my mind wanting nothing to do with the rest of me, and was overcome with pain. I explained to her that I was having difficult time thinking altogether, because the pain really seemed to be stealing the show in my head. “I feel like there is a giant wall in my brain and my thoughts are trying to climb over it but just can’t,” I told her, to which she instantly replied, “You’re experiencing cognitive block.”

I’ve said before that the only thing worse than being sick is being sick and not knowing why. When my counselor was instantly able to label my current unpleasant mental state I couldn’t help but feel an odd sense of relief, which I was able to beautifully articulate to her by saying, “it’s a thing?!” Indeed, cognitive blocks are a thing. A cognitive block happens when something seems to overtake your mind, whether it is pain, grief, depression or any other intense, prolonged sensation or emotion. As my counselor explained, this is the same reason some may experience what can be known as “blind rage.”

I have never experienced blind rage; however I have experienced cognitive blocks often in my life, the perpetrator usually being depression or intense physical pain. On my worst days, whether I am suffering mentally, physically (or more often than not, experiencing it all at once), my mind is flooded and cannot function beyond the sensation of pain. Some days it feels like a wall while other days it feels as if my entire mind is filled with cement so that my thoughts cannot even attempt to move. I am mentally  paralyzed with pain, sick and unable to process anything, let alone able to help myself move towards a less dreadful mental state…and so I find myself trapped.

These blocks worsen my mental and physical pain therefore preventing me from not only doing what I love, but from doing what I must. I was incredibly disappointed in myself last week when I was told by my boss that I made a serious error at work. Thankfully my boss was forgiving, however I felt terrible because I was afraid I couldn’t truly promise her that it would not happen again. I bit my tongue and assured her I’d be extra cautious because despite my sickness I still need to make money in order to survive. The truth is though, if I am experiencing a block, no matter how careful I am, I’ll still end up doing something wrong. 

Chronic illness means that cognitive blocks are a normal part of life, but I never get used to them. I am never okay with making mistakes, being forgetful, being unable to function as I normally do or feeling forced to leave my passion behind because my mind won’t allow anything to escape it. It never gets easier to feel constantly overwhelmed by physical pain while my mental health struggles to overcompensate for a hurting body. No matter what I am thinking about at any moment, it always comes back to the fact that I am in pain, and what I want more than anything is to be able to live without it.

Unfortunately most of my illnesses I will have all my life, which means that at best I can only try to find the best ways to minimize my pain, which I am working on regularly; or at least when I have the energy to do so. Fortunately, at least for today, after making a million phone calls, far too many tears, the help of a few kind strangers and an extremely lucky cancellation, I miraculously was given a dentist appointment tomorrow to hopefully start on a path to solve my dental issues. I am both excited and terrified, but I hope that I can soon be rid of this pain so that my mind can begin to work at least a little bit better.

Tomorrow is Valentine’s day, and I wish all my darling readers a lovely day with whoever (or whatever) they adore most.  The world needs love now more than ever (including myself) so I hope every kind of love spreads like wildfire. Love each other and love yourselves kindly.  Disclaimer: It is probably a bad idea to set things on fire in the name of love. Don’t do that. 

Oh, friend of mine
Will you be mine?
Please don’t be so…
It’s OK to be terrified (terrified)
Please don’t be so shy.

~Valentine – Pentatonix

Note: The photo above is from a video game called Psychonauts, which used to be one of my favorite video games until I got older and began to become ill from 3D and first person games. To read more about my life as a sickly gamer, click here! 

Leave a Reply

