Eleanore Vs. OH MY GOD I FEEL SO SPECIAL AND SHINY

Dear WordPress!

Yesterday was a difficult day which was a bit frustrating as I wasn’t entirely expecting it. For the most part, I can predict when some days will be harder than others, at least to some degree. I did not predict yesterday, so I was exhausted, mopey and disgruntled.

BUT THEN. 

My phone said “BOOP” and a notification popped up from WordPress. It was from one of my favorite bloggers, Ms. Ribbonrx, also known as the lovely Laura Tietz.

Screen Shot 2016-11-08 at 10.34.11 AM.png

I was pretty fucking thrilled. I actually had gotten this once before from another blogger many months ago and I was going to do the post but I forgot because I’m a total jerk (I forgot because I was think I was especially sick at the time) so this time I wanted to be absolutely sure I did this right. So here we go!

The Versatile Blogger Award Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you
  • Include a link to their blog
  • Write a blog post and display the award
  • Reveal seven facts about yourself
  • Nominate other bloggers for the award
  • Notify each blogger of their nomination

First and foremost thank you Laura for nominating me because it is a pretty big deal to my squishy little heart. I’m always thankful for any kindness and acknowledgement I receive, especially for my blog ,since this has become so dear to me. Laura is a Celiac who has recently undergone brain surgery for a tumor, and unfortunately has another coming up. She is astoundingly brave and is a wonderful writer in that she is both honest and raw while still being articulate about everything she experiences. I’m consistently impressed with not just her blog, but with her very existence. Click here to be taken to her!  

As for seven facts about Eleanore:

  1. My favorite colors are black, mint green, and turquoise, mint green specifically because it was the color of my grandmother’s wedding dress.
  2. I have a freckle the size of a quarter on my left shoulder blade; it’s my birthmark, so I have been told. I have many, many freckles, but it is by far the largest. I used to be terribly self conscious about it, but after many years it’s finally become one of my favorite physical attributes. Bonus fact: if you take a pen and connect all the freckles on my right arm, they create a silhouette of California. Don’t ask me how I figured this out.
  3. I have a little book of life goals, favorite things, places I want to visit, nice people I’ve met and nice things people have said to me. It really keeps me going and helps me to combat my anxiety and depression. It keeps me moving forward and I recommend anyone make one for themselves. Especially since my memory is not so good, reading the nice things that have happened or have been said in the past is always a lovely surprise.
  4. When I was little one of my favorite movies was Jurassic Park, but I watched the whole thing with my hands over my ears because the dinosaur roars were SO damn loud. I’ve always been sensitive to sound, so while the dinosaurs never scared me the sounds were jarring. Spoiler alert: I still do that when I watch Jurassic park and they’re still one of my favorite movies.
  5. I adore the sound of accordions. I blame the Austrian half of me.
  6. I love talking on the phone to my friends. The days that I get phone calls from friends make my day, and on the worst days I often think, “man, I hope I get a phone call.” When I do, I’m ecstatic. When I don’t, I’m a sad little puppy. It’s not the act of just simply talking on the phone, it’s  having incredible conversations that set my heart aglow with people that I care about. I crave amazing human interaction and nothing beats it. Except maybe cupcakes and warm blankets. When I have all three I’m the happiest little creature in the universe.
  7. Clothing with buttons and pockets make me absurdly happy. I’m hoping my wedding dress, whenever I get married, will have one, the other, or ideally both.

Now for my nominations!

  • I was going to nominate Laura again, but I suppose I can’t. So whatever. 
  • Depression Comix – This blog is truly one of a kind. The artist, Clay, creates comics in regards to what it is like living with depression, and I’m always amazed by both the beauty of the comics and their accuracy. This artist is immensely gifted in his ability to convey what it is truly like to live with depression and other illnesses.
  • Annoymously Autistic – This fabulous girl, Anna, blogs about her experiences living with Autism and I have learned a great deal from her blog. I admire her so much for her ability to embrace her Autism and how she dares to tell the world that there is nothing wrong with her, but that she is simply different. She is the change in the world that I feel we desperately need, and I think she has a wonderful impact on society.
  • JamisonWrites.com – I have just started to follow Jamison but his story is truly incredible. When I read his about section, at first I thought, “why on Earth is this guy following me, he’s exactly the opposite of everything I am.” As I continued to the end of his about page, I was floored by his real life plot twist. Turns out, we have more in common than I could have ever possibly imagined.

Lastly, thank you to the person who also nominated me months ago, I feel terrible that I cannot remember who it was and cannot find the notification, but I promise it means so very much to me that anyone would even think of my blog to nominate. This blog has been, especially this year, the highlight of my life. I am tremendously thankful that I have a following, that people enjoy my blog and actually want to hear my stories. I’m also thankful for the friends I have made and the stories I’ve been fortunate enough to hear from others. I hope that more of all of that keeps coming my way.

From the bottom of my heart, a thousand times over, thank you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

