Eleanore Vs. NaNoWriOhMyGod

Dearest readers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think this post needs more exclamation points. I am so ridiculously freaking stoked, in a tremendous amount of pain, and dreadfully exhausted, so forgive the silliness of this post. However, I just wanted to share that for the very first time ever, I told all my anxiety, fear and stress to suck it, and have joined this year’s NaNoWriMo.

If you’re unsure what that means, you can click here to learn more. In summation, it’s basically a writer’s challenge in which we are asked to write a 50,000 word novel within the month of November. It’s thrilling, exceedingly terrifying and a little bit insane, and I am doing it.

Since I was a freshmen in college I have contemplated writing one single novel about my life, especially in regards to dealing with hidden illness. The tagline of NaNoWriMo is, “the world needs your novel.” You cannot imagine how much I resonate with that motto. Or maybe you can! Either way, this is all quite spectacular.

My friend Ian (who I met on Tumblr way back when) was the one who motivated me to do the challenge. He calculated that 50,000 words in November is equivalent to approximately 1800 words a day. When you get mathematical about it, it really doesn’t seem so daunting. Now please remind me of that on day 15.

I would love to write more about this, and I probably will here and there for the next month. I am not planning to relax on my blog writing, either. In fact, yesterday I wrote my first 1800 words and then proceeded to write a 1200 word blog post. I’m such a great wannabe writer (just kidding, I think I’m going to pop).

I don’t know what will come of this. I don’t know what I’m hoping for or expecting, but I am writing vigorously and hope that whatever happens, I learn a great deal about myself, my writing and my existence as a whole. Have I mentioned I’m a little overly introspective?

As always, I will leave you with a song, but first I leave you with the introduction to my novel. I am at least for the moment pleased with my introduction, as it took a great deal of thought, passion, and wiggling about my brain in order to find the perfect way to say what I wanted to. I won’t post the title at the moment as I’m not sure I like it. Oh, the suspense!

Dearest Reader,

It is of utmost importance that you are aware of one particular truth. This fact is my favorite part of being human, and I’m elated to be able to share it with you. Ready? Here it is:  it has been scientifically proven that the main ingredient in the recipe that creates human life is what scientists refer to as “star stuff.” Carl Sagan’s famous quote explains it better than I ever could, as I am not a scientist:

“The nitrogen in our DNA, the calcium in our teeth, the iron in our blood, the carbon in our apple pies were made in the interiors of collapsing stars. We are made of starstuff.”

This affirms that regardless of who you are, what you look like, your gender, sexuality, personal beliefs, or even your what continent you live on, we are all made of the same material the rest of the universe is; we are all made of star stuff. I, of course, am just like you, aside from one small detail. The stars I was made from were a little bit drunk the day they decided to create me. Oops.

I promise to write a proper blog post soon. Until then, I will thank you, every one of my wonderful followers, because I would have never even thought about taking on this massive challenge if I were not regularly motivated and inspired by you. From the bottom of my heart, truly, thank you.

Say what you want to say; make it mean everything.

~Matt and Kim – Let’s Go 

 

Leave a Reply

